This will only delete things like downloadable games on your microSD card, which, of course, you can simply redownload from the eShop after you’ve completed the system transfer. This internal clock feature supports long-term playability and is intrinsic to the game mechanics. In small print on Nintendo’s Cloud page, users are warned that some games, like Splatoon 2, are not compatible with Nintendo’s Cloud backup. According to Nintendo, only screenshots and gameplay videos you capture yourself can be moved from system memory to a microSD card, and vice versa. For more information, see How to Backup and Restore Island Save Data (Animal Crossing: New Horizons). How to transfer user data Step 1: Start on the old Switch. The transfer process will start and your data will begin moving through space. If that sounds like a daunting task – because, let’s face it, Nintendo sometimes makes things complicated – fear not! From the Home menu, select System Settings > Data Management > Save Data Cloud. RELATED: How to Decide Which Nintendo Switch Is Right for You. Is this game compatible with Save Data Cloud? From there, select “Send Save Data to Another Console” and then pick the user whose save data file to transfer. For more information, see How to Backup and Restore Island Save Data (Animal Crossing: New Horizons). IF YOU WANT TO USE THE SAME MICROSD CARD AS THE ONE IN YOUR SOURCE SYSTEM: All you need to do is pop in your microSD card to your target system once the transfer is complete. Unfortunately, Nintendo hasn’t implemented a fix for this, and it isn’t certain the company ever will. This would mean that if your Nintendo Switch were damaged or lost, there would be no way for you to retrieve your save game data. Once they find each other, you’ll see a “Transfer” option pop up. Make sure your Switch is turned off before removing the card, however. The cloud settings default to automatically backing up video game software and save data when the Nintendo Switch is connected to the internet. The above article may contain affiliate links, which help support How-To Geek. However, if you aren’t concerned about your play time data, then this doesn’t affect you! Do not place your same microSD card from your source system into the target system — the target system will erase the data on it! The loss of a save file would mean the loss of several hours or even years of progress. Ultimate play time on your source system, you would have to play 350 hours more on your target system until the count will start increasing again. Yes. The last time your island was backed up will be displayed in the bottom-left corner of the title screen. When multiple players live on one island, does everyone have access to the same places and items? If you’re still curious what the games entail, though, be sure to check out the trailers below which cover all of the…. New special edition Nintendo Switch consoles are being released. For Animal Crossing: New Horizons on the Nintendo Switch, a GameFAQs message board topic titled "So is it possible to transfer your save data to a new Switch yet? If that sounds like a daunting task – because, let’s face it, Nintendo sometimes makes things complicated – fear not! To enable island backup, you need a Nintendo Account that has an active Nintendo Switch Online membership and that has created a resident on the island. Ultimate? After island backup is enabled, it can be disabled by the same user that enabled it in the in-game settings. If we missed anything, please let us know in the comments below! How many players can share a single island? In an interview with Higashi Nogami, Animal Crossing: New Horizons Producer, Nogami stated the reasoning behind Nintendo’s decision to exclude this feature was to prevent players from “manipulating time in the game,” as that is “one of the founding principles of the game.” Animal Crossing is a game with a built-in internal clock that follows present day date and time. Important: Once the save data is sent, the save data will be deleted from the source system. After you’ve completed the microSD card data deletion process, you’ll find that all your existing screenshots and videos have survived. The best is that you can access the Nintendo Switch cloud without a Nintendo Online subscription. If this happens, you can restore your island on a replacement Nintendo Switch system. If so, chances you’ll want to transfer your system data from one Switch to another. We’ll walk you through everything with our Nintendo Switch system transfer guide. This can take a while, so grab some popcorn. Information on the feature and timing will be announced at a future time, so please check Nintendo.com for more details as they become available. Scroll down to “Backup Settings” and enable the “Automatic Save-Data Backup” option. The views expressed on Nintendo Wire are our own. This feature is available to those with an active Nintendo Switch Online membership. Make sure you’ve powered on the console once, made a placeholder user, and have signed in to your Nintendo Account. Joshalynne is a freelance writer and lifelong learner who always loves studying new things. Applies to:  If you want to move your Switch screenshots and videos over, follow these steps: IF YOU WANT TO USE A DIFFERENT MICROSD CARD THAN THE ONE IN YOUR SOURCE SYSTEM: You’ll need to connect your microSD card to a PC. Better safe than sorry, right? Information on the current status of your cloud storage is shown on the right. Events in the game are based on this internal clock. With one Nintendo Switch system and one game, up to four people can play on the same island simultaneously (additional accessories required). Sadly, Nintendo has made it impossible to transfer some game data via this method. Required fields are marked *. Tap that and then you’re off and running. Since we launched in 2006, our articles have been read more than 1 billion times. which means you might be looking to trade-in your basic console! If you have replaced your Nintendo Switch system after it was lost or broken, you can restore you island data using the same Nintendo Account that enabled island backup. Can I disable island backup after it is enabled? If you followed these steps everything should’ve worked out great and your games and save data should all have been successfully transferred! That is, only one Switch is allowed to have all features enabled at a time. Nintendo’s latest fiscal report is in, this time covering the six month period ending September 30th, 2020. Is there a way to copy all my data from my original switch to the new one but still keep all the data on the original switch. If these options are blurred out, it means the cloud system has automatically done this for you. You can't have it on both. There are some tasks on the island that the Resident Representative (first resident on the island) must complete before the related features will be open to other players. Essentially, you’ll be doing the same thing again, but instead of “Source Console,” you’ll select “Target Console.”. Your email address will not be published. Play time data is tied to the console itself, not the user. Up to eight players can live on one shared island, using the same Nintendo Switch system, and one game. Interested in the HomePod mini? While you can easily transfer your save data using the Switch’s built-in system transfer feature.